Fash-fanatic

Just a site for some crazy little things, but we do like.

Another comeback of Antwerp darling

A week of Men’s fashion show in Milan did not make any big stories to attend but the come back of Jil Sander.I will wrap up Men’s fashion week again after Paris. A little surprise news for me is the return of Antwerp designer Veronique Branquinho, who was ex-girlfriend of becoming Couturier Raf Simons. Both were new generation of Antwerp designers after early big wave from Dries Van Noten or Ann Demeulemeester. I really admire her works as refined tailoring and sharp cutting with bold but simplified palette.

Last collection Fall/Winter 2009 before declared bankruptcy.

After a three-year absence from the industry, designer Veronique Branquinho will relaunch her eponymous label in partnership with the Italian clothing manufacturer Gibò this September. “Before, I had an independent company. I was responsible for everything,” she said. “In this new situation, it feels so comfortable, because I’m only busy with the creative part.

“When you have to start again, it’s not easy,” Branquinho told WWD, “but then once I started, it’s always been a very intuitive process, in a way, for me. I didn’t want to throw away everything that I did [in the past], but I also think I’ve been evolving as a person, and I hope you can see this also translated in my work.”

My favorite looks from Branquinho, Fall 2003, ” Dark and bitter as Belgian chocolate”

The new collection will be “distributed selectively” to 100 retail clients, reports WWD.

“I’ve always been a no-nonsense girl, I think,” she said. “My approach is also like that and I think this is something people are looking for—honest things.”

Hopefully, her comeback will rejoint her existing fanbase like Jil Sander did to her latest Men’s collection that was just shown.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 26, 2012 by in Fashion and tagged .
